## Coetus Episcoporum Scotiae (c. 1423 §1)

## **DECREE**

Whereas, with its Decree of 11 June 1970, the Bishops' Conference of Scotland established the Scottish Regional Tribunal;

Whereas the Archives of said Tribunal, between 1970 and 1985, give evidence of there having been numerous different titles applied to it with, from 1985 onwards, the title of the "Scottish National Tribunal" asserting itself;

Whereas the 1983 Code of Canon Law stipulates in c. 1423 §1 that a *Coetus* Episcoporum, as opposed to a given *Conferentia* Episcoporum, can establish by common accord one single Tribunal of first instance for their dioceses;

Whereas the relevant *Coetus* Episcoporum of Scotland, which currently coincides *de facto* with the Bishops' Conference of Scotland, having taken canonical advice and deliberated fully thereupon, has deemed it appropriate to identify and establish normatively a more exact ecclesiological and canonical name for the same Tribunal;

The *Coetus* Episcoporum of Scotland, through the person of its designated Tribunal Moderator, hereby **decrees** that, with effect from 30 November 2011, the Solemnity of Saint Andrew the Apostle, Primary Patron of Scotland, their common Tribunal of first instance is to be renamed as **The Scottish Catholic Inter-Diocesan Tribunal**.

Anything to the contrary notwithstanding.

Given at Edinburgh on the 9th November 2011.

Signed:

+ Keith Patrick Cardinal O'Brien

Moderator of the Scottish National Tribunal On behalf of the 'Coetus Episcoporum' of Scotland

Metropolitan Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh

+ Keith Litich Cardinal & Brien.